Skip to main content

Association of Southeast Asian Nations Free Trade Area

Title English: 
Association of Southeast Asian Nations Free Trade Area
Definition English: 
The ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA)[1] is a trade bloc agreement by the Association of Southeast Asian Nations supporting local manufacturing in all ASEAN countries. The AFTA agreement was signed on 28 January 1992 in Singapore. When the AFTA agreement was originally signed, ASEAN had six members, namely, Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Vietnam joined in 1995, Laos and Myanmar in 1997 and Cambodia in 1999. AFTA now comprises the ten countries of ASEAN. All the four latecomers were required to sign the AFTA agreement to join ASEAN, but were given longer time frames in which to meet AFTA's tariff reduction obligations.
Title Arabic: 
منطقة التجارة الحرة لرابطة أمم جنوب شرق آسيا
International Instruments
Corporate Names/Bodies